Alyssa Brown has been named Deer Creek School’s STAR Student for the 2018-2019 school year by the Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) M. B. Swayze Foundation, sponsor of the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program.  Alyssa is the daughter of Shondra and Bobby Brown of Lake Village.  Alyssa has been president of her class and a member of the Student Council her sophomore, junior and senior years.  She is a member of the MAIS Honor Society and was elected to serve as Honor Society president this year. She is also an alumnus of the HOBY Leadership Organization. Alyssa was a member of the Delta State Honor Choir of 2017. Throughout her high school career, she has had been awarded many highest average awards and has been on the Headmaster’s List each semester.   In her eighth and eleventh grade years, Alyssa received the Woodmen of the World Award for outstanding achievement in the field of history. Alyssa will attend Mississippi College in the fall to study political science.  She has been awarded the Presidential Scholarship which is based on ACT score and grade point average.  She was selected to attend the Mississippi College Presidential Competition in February.

Established by the Mississippi Economic Council in 1965, the purpose of the STAR program is to recognize outstanding students & teachers in Mississippi through its Education Celebration.  Star Students are selected on the basis of academic excellence.  Both American College Test scores and scholastic averages are compared to determine the school’s STAR Student, explained Vickie Powell of Jackson, Senior Vice President of Foundations.  “The STAR program encourages and promotes academic achievement among Mississippi’s high school seniors,” she said.  Each STAR Student is asked to designate a STAR Teacher, the teacher who has made the greatest contribution to the student’s scholastic achievement.

Nichole Smyly was designated as STAR Teacher.

Alyssa and Mrs. Smyly will be honored during the annual Education Celebration on April 11, 2019, at the Jackson Convention Complex in downtown Jackson.   The Education Celebration will start at 9:30 a.m. at the Jackson Convention Complex.  This prestigious event is co-sponsored by:


Atmos Energy


Barksdale Management

Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi

Cooperative Energy

Electric Cooperative of Mississippi

Entergy Mississippi

Ergon, Inc.

Ingalls Shipbuilding

Mississippi Power Company

Nissan North America, Inc.

Sanderson Farms, Inc.

Trustmark National Bank



Additional local support for the STAR program is provided by MEC members from communities across the state.

Over 650 STAR Students and STAR Teachers will receive recognition from MEC’s M.B. Swayze Foundation at the Celebration.  The top 20 STAR Students –The ALL-STAR Scholars – will receive scholarships and their STAR Teachers will receive awards provided by the Kelly Gene Cook, Sr. Charitable Foundation.  The highlight of the Education Celebration will be the naming of the Mississippi ALL-STAR Scholar for 2018-2019 school year, winner of the coveted $24,000 Cook Foundation Scholarship.